A Lack of Tenacity grieves the Holy Spirit

If I am being honest with myself and the Lord, I would recognize a character flaw.

In the midst of undesirable and adverse situations, in times I could remain steadfast and keep on keeping on, I don’t. I give up. Giving up is a result of a lack of tenacity. A lack of tenacity grieves the Holy Spirit.

I tend to come into agreement with lies that say, “It wasn’t for me,” “I can’t do it,” or the easiest cop out, “It must not have been in the Lord’s will.”

Though I may appear to be trying with my actions, I end up operating in a lying spirit because, whatever I may be attempting, is not something I’m doing from my heart. I end up doing the task just to say I did it. Rather than, continuing a work I started to see it completed.

Instead of persevering and denying my flesh, I tend to excuse myself and my downfalls and shortcomings. This is unbiblical. This is extremely dangerous. It is a religious and antichrist spirit. It quenches the Holy Spirit. It grieves the Holy Spirit because you are siding with the enemy’s lies in efforts to protect an unclean spirit — be it gluttony, laziness, pride or unbelief.

To operate under these unclean spirits directly opposes Christ. For we are called to walk in the Spirit, not to satisfy the desires of our flesh. (Galatians 5:16)

To operate under the influence of any unclean spirit when you know better, is a sin. For to him who knows to do good and does not do it, to him it is sin. (James 4:17)

Whenever I commit to something and I lack tenacity, it quenches the Holy Spirit. The Spirit of Truth, my Aide and Comforter, Who unctions me to “keep going”, “keeping moving forward”, and the most convicting, “you’re lying to yourself.” Everything — every conviction and correction lines up with the Word — with Jesus Christ.

Jesus Christ knew He was coming on the earth to sacrifice Himself for our souls’ salvation. He knew He would be wrongfully accused, beaten and murdered. Yet, He still persevered.

Jesus Christ didn’t stop until He accomplished the will of His Father. This is what we are here to do. This is what I am here to do — to do the will of my Father. No matter how hard it gets or how much suffering it takes to reach the will of my Father, I am more than a conqueror through Christ who strengthens me.

For when I am weak, then I am strong. (2 Corinthians 12:10)

It’s hard to persevere and be tenacious when our situations feel too hard to overcome.

“Knowing that the testing of your faith produces patience. But let patience have its perfect work, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking nothing.” James‬ ‭1:3-4‬

There are times when I am doing something as minuscule as running and I want to give up. The Holy Spirit unctions me, “You can keep moving forward.” I stop running because I “feel” tired. I quench the Holy Spirit. My lack of tenacity has grieved the Holy Spirit.

There are times when I know I am eating out of boredom and idleness rather than because I am hungry. I am not being a good steward over my temple, my body which is made to be a living sacrifice to the Lord. When I’m operating in gluttony and I lack self control, I have grieved the Holy Spirit.

But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.” Galatians 5:22-23

There were times when I felt like I did all I could do. I prayed and consecrated myself unto the Lord yet I still suffered. I still felt ignored. Jesus Christ was right there interceding. I ignored the Lord and chose to entertain pride by wallowing in pity; thus coming into agreement with lies. In doing this, I quenched the Holy Spirit. (1 Thessalonians 5:19)

Jesus Christ came to set us free, so that we would know how to live, blameless and righteous in the sight of God. Jesus Christ suffered, yet He persevered.

Lord, help me to be more like You and walk in the agape love You have for me. Increase my faith and help my unbelief in the name of Jesus.

May the Lord direct your hearts into God’s love and Christ’s perseverance. (2 Thess. 3.5)

 

 

Leave a comment